

### **Computer Conservation Society (CCS)**

AGM held on Thursday October 22<sup>nd</sup> 2015 at 2.00 pm In the Fellows' Library, Science Museum

### 1. Welcome and Apologies

Roger Johnson welcomed a very full house of members and visitors to the meeting and gave the apologies of the Chair, Rachel Burnett.

#### 2. Minutes of the 2014 AGM

The minutes which had been circulated before the meeting were approved.

# 3. Chair's Report

The Chair's report which had been circulated before the meeting was accepted.

## 4. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer presented his report which had been circulated before the meeting. A member asked about the availability of Gift Aid on donations to the CCS. The Treasurer agreed to follow this up with the BCS. The report was accepted.

### 5. CCS Officers to be appointed

Rachel Burnett was nominated as Chair by Simon Lavington seconded by Dik Leatherdale and re-elected unanimously.

The meeting agreed unanimously to the acting chair's proposal that the other officers be re-elected *en bloc*:-

Secretary: Roger Johnson Treasurer: David Hartley

Membership Secretary: Dave Goodwin

Meetings Secretary: to be appointed – temporarily acting: Roger Johnson and Rachel Burnett

Resurrection & Website Editor: Dik Leatherdale

Projects Co-ordinator: David Hartley

### 6. Ratification of Groups

The meeting agreed unanimously to the acting chair's proposal to ratify the following project groups for 2015/16:-

Our Computer Heritage - Simon Lavington (Digital Archivist)

Analytical Engine - Doron Swade

Bombe - John Harper

Elliott 401 - Rod Brown

SSEM - Chris Burton

Elliott 803/903 - Terry Froggatt

Software Conservation - David Holdsworth

ICT 1301 - Rod Brown

Harwell Dekatron Computer - Delwyn Holroyd

ICL 2966 - Delwyn Holroyd

EDSAC Replica - Andrew Herbert

IBM Group - Terry Muldoon/Peter Short

Bloodhound Missile/Argus Preservation Group - Peter Harry

ICL 1900 - Delwyn Holroyd

#### 7. CCS Committee 2015-2016

The meeting agreed unanimously to the acting chair's proposal to ratify the following other members of the committee for 2015/16:-

#### Museums

Science Museum: Katherine Platt

Museum of Science & Industry, Manchester: Katherine Platt

The National Museum of Computing: vacancy

Bletchley Park Trust: Kelsey Griffin

#### North West Group

Chairman: Tom Hinchliffe Secretary: Gordon Adshead

#### Co-opted

Archives Adviser: Martin Campbell-Kelly

Media Officer: Dan Hayton

Tony Sale Award Co-ordinator: Peta Walmisley

#### 8. AOB

- a. The acting Chair informed the meeting that from early 2016 London meetings would be moving to the BCS at Southampton Street, just off the Strand in Central London as the Science Museum had sold the premises to Imperial College. He thanked the Science Museum and also Manchester Museum of Science and Industry for their continued support of our meetings.
- b. Alan Thomson announced that Fujitsu had become a foundation sponsor of TNMoC. He also reported that the whole ICL Technical Journals is now available online.
- c. Simon Lavington asked for any information on the use of Ferranti Mark 1 Stars outside Manchester.
- d. TNMoC announced a Colossus evening on December 12<sup>th</sup> 2015.

The acting Chair closed the AGM at 14:20 with thanks to all present.